The Christian Public Servant – “dressed for success”

The Christian Public Servant – “dressed for success”

July 13, 2016 – Wednesday

Reading
Ephesians 6:13 [NIV] Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.

Reflection
A while back, a new employee joined our staff. From the start, she dressed in a professional manner. Once she asked me, “How do you dress in the fall and winter for this job?” I was not thinking much when I responded, so I just told her what I normally wore. But when I got home that night, I realized I missed an opportunity to present the gospel. I should have said to wear the full armor of God, and she would be dressed for success.

Spiritually, it’s easy to go to work with the wrong “clothes” or with no “clothes” at all. You may grumble about the job – all the stress and all the work – you are simply undressing yourself and going to work spiritually naked – vulnerable to attacks from the devil throughout the workday. You may not even notice the co-worker or client that could use a word of encouragement. You may react with the wrong attitude towards a supervisor. Your day could be disastrous all because you were not dressed for success.

So today, before you leave home for work, be sure to dress appropriately – wear the full armor of God – and stay that way on the work-battlefield for the Lord.

And, I promise, you will be dressed for success!

Prayer
Dear God, thank You for being the top designer in fashion history and for providing me with the wardrobe I need to make it through work and, more importantly, through life. In Your Son’s name, I pray. Amen!

Adrieme Walker, FLMI, ACS, AIRC
Policy Service Consultant
Southern Farm Bureau Life Insurance
Jackson, Mississippi, USA
and Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Public Policy & Administration
Jackson State University
Jackson, Mississippi USA

Leave a comment